

## The Virginia War Cry "EVER FORWARD"

SOCIETY OF THE WAR OF 1812 IN THE COMMONWEALTH OF VIRGINIA

> Volume 15, Number 1 Summer 2012 NEWSLETTER Editor Mike Lyman





For the FY 2013-2014 commencing July 1, 2012, new officers and councilors were sworn in at the Society's Annual Meeting at the Country Club in Fredericksburg on June 16 2012 by Mike Lyman, Assistant Historian General. L/R: John M. Epperly, *Councilor;* Henry C. Howells, *Registrar;* J. Shane Newcombe, *Quartermaster;* William A. Nash, *Treasurer;* Walter J. Sheffield, Esq., *2d Vice President;* C. Dennis Fritts, *1st Vice President;* and Capt (USN Ret) John N. Dickie, *President.* Elected as Secretary and not attending was C. Victor, Diehl, Jr. as well as Peter E. Broadbent, Jr., Esq., *Historian.* Other councilors elected but not in the photo were George D. Dyer, Sr., James M. Green, Jr., Brig General, Charles D. McGuire, Colonel William C. Collier.

Photo by Shane Newcombe

\* \* \* \* \* \*

Following the annual meeting was the luncheon and then the commemoration ceremony at the Thornton– Forbes -Washington cemetery in Fredericksburg where society grave markers were unveiled for three veterans. See the succeeding pages for photos and details.