SOCIETY PRESENTS WAR OF 1812 ROTC AWARD OF MERIT AND MEDALS TO DESERVING CADETS

Vice-President General of the Virginia Society of the War of 1812, Stuart Butler presented Society War of 1812 Award of Merit and medal awards to several deserving ROTC cadets at University of Virginia and the College of William and Mary during April and May. On April 12, 2022, Butler was on hand to give the certificate of Award of Merit and Society medal to the following: Caleb Macey (Army) William Newberg (Navy), and Elizabeth Gao (Air Force). Unfortunately, photographs have not been received at this time, but should they be forthcoming, they will be posted later. Included below is a copy of the pertinent page from the official program at UVA.

On May 4, 2022, Vice President General Butler presented the Society of the War of 1812 Award of Merit and medal to Cadet Elizabeth M. Erickson, Revolutionary Guard Battalion at the College of William and Mary.Cadet Erickson is a sophomore.



Cadet Erickson receiving ROTC award from Vice-President General Butler

Additional awards of merit were given to deserving ROTC cadets at Virginia Tech on April 21, 2022. They are: Nicholas Dominique (Air Force), Ellen Thurneysen (Navy), and Kevin Hicks (Army) without Society representation. Cadet Jordan Rome also received an Award of Merit and medal after the official ceremony at Norfolk State University.



Master of Ceremony (MC): CDR Patri Funk Unit Commanding Officers Army LTC Isaac Rademacher Navy CAPT Michael Rovenolt

Air Force COL Michael Hough

Presenters: As the MC calls the name of the award to be presented, please come to the stage and present the award. Upon presenting your award, please depart the stage and return to your seat.

Students: Please proceed to the stage once

your name is called, to meet the presenter and accept your award. Upon receiving your award, please depart the stage and return to your seat.

Awards in order of presentation:

<u>Virginia Society of the Order of the</u> <u>Founders and Patriots of America Award</u>

Presented by: German P. Culver, Jr Recipients: Justin Sampson, Andrew Woo

<u>Daughters of the Founders and Patriots of</u> <u>America Award</u>

Presented by unit staff.
Recipients:
Ann Lee, Cinnamon Temple, Aidan
Loughran, Andrew Woo, and Aileen A
Murray, Kasey Ayre

General Society of the War of 1812

Presented by: Mr. Stuart Butler Recipients:

Caleb Macey, William Newberg, Elizabeth

American Legion Award for Military

Excellence

Presented by Mr. Phil Grimm and Mr. William Napier Recipients: Lucas Bires, Ryan Yachere, Amy Lee

American Legion Award for Scholastic

Excellence

Presented by Mr. Phil Grimm and Mr. William Napier Recipients: Alexander Mosher, Lennard Seth, Lauren Murphy

National Sojourners Award for

Americanism

Presented by: Dr. Jeff Hodges

Recipients:

Emma Schmieder, Kyle Widmark,

Samantha Boyles

Daughters of the American Revolution Award

Presented by: Sitta Schafer and Deborah Hawkins Recipients:

Rhiannon Doane, Cameron Horn, Sarah Brewster, Gloria Rho

National Defense Industrial Association Award

Presented by: Fred Latrash Recipients:

Keysh-mejias Martinez, Benjamin Welsel, Ryu Patterson

Veterans of Foreign Wars of the United States Award

Presented by: Mr. Joe Martin Recipients:

Tristan Arendt, Jordan Fay, Kevin Barnes

Joint ROTC Awards Ceremony at University of Virginia, April 12, 2022

Included below are the relevant pages from W&M ROTC program awards ceremony.

Spring 2022 ROTC Awards Ceremony



Department of Military Science

William & Mary





Revolutionary Guard Battalion

May 4, 2022

Reserve Officer Association Medals

Presented to
Cadet Matthew Y. Chu – Gold
Cadet Christine M. Dittmer – Gold
Cadet Mark F. O'Donohue - Silver
Cadet Noah D. Singer – Silver
Cadet Andrew H. Porth – Bronze
Cadet Peter Demet - Bronze

REVOLUTIONARY GUARD BATTALION BEST CADET

MSI - CDT Owen S. Schwab MSII – CDT Ethan J. Thayer MSIII – CDT Ryan K. Fameli MSIV – CDT Lucas P. Lombardozzi

The General Society of the War of 1812

Presented to CDT Jessie T. Clatterbuck

United Services Automobile Association Spirit Award

> Presented to CDT Eric M. Tessicini

American Legion General Military and Scholastis Excellence Award

Presented

to
CDT Matthew Y. Chu (Military)
CDT Terry M. Riley (Military)
CDT Jonna L. Reinhardt (Scholastic)
CDT Claire C. Flores (Scholastic)