SOCIETY PRESENTS WREATH AT THE TOMB OF PRESIDENT JAMES MONROE AT HOLLYWOOD CEMETERY, APRIL 28, 2023

The Society of the War of 1812 in Virginia presented a wreath at the tomb of President James Monroe on his birthday in historic Hollywood Cemetery on April 28, 2023 \cdot Brig \cdot Gen \cdot Michael Lalor, Commandant of the U \cdot S \cdot Army Ordinance School, at Fort Lee, now re-designated Fort Gregg-Adams, Petersburg, Virginia, delivered a birthday message from the President of the United States followed by the presentation of the colors and the playing of "Taps" at the conclusion of the program The James Monroe Memorial Foundation, headed by President G William Thomas and Vice President Peter Broadbent, conducted the ceremonies following the Army's departure Despite the rainy and cool weather, over fifty patriotic and related organizations throughout the state presented wreaths and delivered birthday greetings As several speakers noted, President Monroe is the only individual who acted as Secretary of War and the Secretary of State simultaneously which occurred during the War of 1812 \cdot



Brig· Gen· Michael Lalor delivers the Presidential message at Hollywood Cemetery·



President James Green delivers his remarks at the Monroe Birthday event at Hollywood Cemetery



President Green beside the Society's wreath at Monroe festivities. Past president Stuart Butler (taking picture) also attended.



Peter Broadbent, Vice President of the Monroe Memorial Foundation, is also a member of the Society of the War of 1812 \cdot





IMMEDIATELY FOLLOWING PRESIDENTIAL WREATH LAYING CEREMONY
Call to Order
Invocation
Greetings from the General AssemblyDelegate Betsy Carr
Gubernatorial Proclamation
Special Presentation from the Virginia Society, C.A.RSara Cox, Honorary State President
Laying of Wreaths and RemarksList Follows
BenedictionW. Gregory Burkett, Assistant Chaplain
Closing RemarksThomas, Jr.
Group Photos
Participants in the Wreath Laying Ceremony

James Monroe Memorial Foundation	Mary Anna Broadbent
National Society of SAR	Peter Davenport, Vice Pres
Virginia Society of SAR	Ernie Coggins, President
Richmond Chapter of SAR	Chris Yohn, President
James Monroe Chapter of SAR	Jim Russell, President
Norfolk Chapter of SAR	Robert Bruce, President
Col. Fielding Lewis Chapter of SAR	Paul Cox
Richard Henry Lee Chapter of SAR	Jim Russell, Past President
Williamsburg Chapter of SAR	Bruce Laubach, President
Col. William Grayson Chapter of SAR	Dave Button, Secretary
General Daniel Morgan Chapter of SAR	Louis T. March
George Mason Chapter of SAR	Ken Morris, Past President

'ice President Gen.

Nelly Custis Chapter, DAR

Virginia Daughters of the American Colonists Society of Colonial Wars in the State of Va. Grand Lodge Ancient Free and Accepted Falls of the Rappahannock Chapter, DAR Sons of the Revolution, Virginia Society Rev. James Blair Ch. NSCD XVII Century Culpepper Minutemen Chapter of SAR Daughters of Colonial Wars in Virginia George Washington Chapter of SAR Col. James Wood II Chapter of SAR Thomas Nelson, Jr. Chapter of SAR Order of Founders & Patriots in Va. Anna Maria Fitzhugh Chapter, DAR Fauquier Courthouse Chapter, DAR Kate Waller Barrett Chapter, DAR Bermuda Hundred Chapter, DAR Augustine Warner Chapter, DAR Rappahannock Chapter of SAR Col William Allen Chapter, DAR Commonwealth Chapter, DAR Descendants of Valley Forge Williamsburg Chapter, DAR Virginia Huguenot Society William Byrd Chapter, DAR Ann Wager Chapter, DAR Cobbs Hall Chapter, DAR District V, Virginia DAR District IX, Virginia DAR Masons of Virginia

Pamela Redd Meiring, State Regent Lt. Col. Cat Schwetke, Hon. Regent Barbara Rooney, State President Eugenia McGroarty, Hon. Regent Thomas W. Daniel III, President Gary Hodges, Past President Nancy O'Reardon, President Kenneth Hawkins, Governor Elizabeth Greaf, Vice Regent Matson Roberts, President Don Strehle, Grand Master form Roth, Past President Marcia Neuendorf, Regent Louis T. March, President Colette Schupner, Regent Anne Kline, Vice Regent Bill Schwetke, Registrar Alison Johnston, Regent Kim Defibaugh, Regent Sharon White, Regent Darcy Mathes, Regent Donna Weiler, Regent Jenny Daniel, Regent W. Gregory Burkett Gail Tucker, Regent Nancy Hill, Director Carrie Pierce Jim Russell Bill Akers