## SOCIETY MEMBERS ATTEND THE FESTIVITIES AT JAMES MONROE BIRTHPLACE

On April 24, 2024, members from the Virginia Society of the War of 1812 attended the ceremonial events observing the birthday of the fifth President James Monroe at his restored birthplace home in Westmoreland County, Virginia. President Monroe's actual birthday is April 28, 2024, and he will also be honored at Hollywood Cemetery in Richmond, Virginia, where he is buried. Over forty patriotic and lineage organizations paid their respects to the only other President to have served in the Revolutionary War.

Present from the Society were past presidents Stuart Butler and Paul Walden, as well as Registrar Hugh Markham, James Russell, and Peter Broadbent, who is also the Vice President of the James Memorial Foundation. James Green, current president of the Virginia Society, gave a short speech on James Monroe's serving as Secretary of State and Secretary of War at the same time during the War of 1812.



President Green with the Virginia Society wreath



Paul Walden also represented the General Society of the War of 1812. To his left is Vice President Peter Broadbent of the James Memorial Foundation. All photos by Stuart Butler



Hugh Markham, Registrar of the Society

Henricopolis Chapter, DAR Nelly Custis Chapter, DAR Lane's Mill Chapter, DAR Phyllis Wheatley Chapter, DAR Williamsburg Chapter, DAR Col. Alexander Spotswood Chapter, CAR Virginia Huguenot Society Senator Bryce Reeves Phyllis Schlafly Eagles Taylor Family Virginia Society of the Cincinnati Virginia Mayflower Society Patricia Given, Regent Marcia Neuendorf, Regent Anita Bonner, Regent Anne Kline K J Procter-Corbett Jack Akers Louis T. March, President Chris Snider Ed Martin, President Brandon Taylor Andrew Wheeler Blaise Broadbent, Junior Member



JAMES MONROE MEMORIAL FOUNDATION The James Monroe Memorial Foundation presents the



266<sup>th</sup> Birthday Celebration Ceremony at Fifth President James Monroe's Birthplace House

> James Monroe Birthplace and Park Westmoreland County, Virginia April 20, 2024 10:30 a.m.

		Participants in the wreath Laying Ceremony	
Call to Order	G. William Thomas, Jr., President, James Monroe Memorial Foundation	James Monroe Memorial Foundation	Mary Anna Broadbent
		National Society, SAR	James Engler, Vice President General
Invocation	The Reverend Ronald Olswyn White, Associate Pastor, Providence United Methodist Church, West Point Class of 1984	Virginia Society of SAR	William Greaf, President
		Richmond Chapter of SAR	Chris Yohn, President
Presentation of Colors	VASSAR Color Guard Gary Dunaway, Color Guard Commander	George Mason Chapter of SAR	Ken Morris, Past President
		Col. William Grayson Chapter of SAR	Dave Button, Secretary
Pledge of Allegiance and Toast to the Flag	Shelby L. Chandler, II, Camp Commander of Washington's Cruisers Camp, Heroes of '76	James Monroe Chapter of SAR	Jim Russell, President
		Richard Henry Lee Chapter of SAR	Michael Rhodes
Welcome	Hon. Woody Hynson, Westmoreland County Board of Supervisors	Williamsburg Chapter of SAR	George Corbett, Chaplain
	Hon. Robin Schick, Mayor, Colonial Beach Jeffrey McCormick, Westmoreland County Board of Supervisors W. Benjamin Prescott, Westmoreland County Administrator	Culpeper Minutemen Chapter of SAR	Tom Hamill, Past President
		General Daniel Morgan Chapter of SAR	Louis T. March
		George Washington Chapter of SAR	Scott Walker, President
Greetings	VASSAR President William Greaf VA DAR President Laurie Nesbitt	Col. Fielding Lewis Chapter of SAR	John Hamilton, Past President
		Rappahannock Chapter of SAR	Wright Andrews, President
Greetings from the General Assembly	Hon. Hillary Pugh Kent	Descendants of Valley Forge	Bill Akers
Comments	David Trebing, former Governor General, Society of Colonial Wars	Grand Lodge of Virginia, Ancient, Free & Accepted Masons	M.W. Dr. Jeffery Hodges, Past Grand Ma
	Kathleen Kilpatrick, Chair, James Monroe Birthplace Committee	Society of the War of 1812 in Virginia	James Green, President
		Va. State Society, U.S. Daughters of 1812	Nancy Howard Mossburg, President
Remarks about Monroe	Peter Davenport, former President, Virginia SAR	Rappahannock Ch., U.S. Daughters of 1812	Jo Ann Fickling, President
Recognition of Essay Competition	Dr. Leonard Levin	Eliza Monroe Ch., U.S. Daughters of 1812	Natalie Ardoline, President
Recognition of Docents and Volunteers	Shelby L. Chandler, II, Superintendent, James Monroe Park	James Monroe Ch. U.S. Daughters of 1812	Dr. Cheryl Davis, President
		Daughters of American Colonists, Va. Society	Debbie Misiag, Registrar
Gubernatorial Proclamation	Peter E. Broadbent, Jr., Vice President, James Monroe Memorial Foundation	Stephen Bailey Chapter, DAC	Elizabeth Bailey Headley, Regent
		Order of Founders & Patriots in Va	Kenneth Hawkins, Governor
Laying of Wreaths and Remarks	List Follows	Sons of the Revolution, Va. Society	Peter Broadbent
Benediction	Reverend Ronald Olswyn White	Society of Colonial Wars in the State of Va	Chris Broadbent
Closing Remarks	President G. William Thomas, Jr.	Virginia DAR	Laurie Nesbitt, President
Group Photos		District IX, Virginia DAR	Sonya Johnson, Director
		Ann Wager Chapter, DAR	Elizabeth Greaf, Vice Regent
and the second se			

Commonwealth Chapter, DAR

Kate Waller Barrett Chapter, DAR

Falls of the Rappahannock Chapter, DAR

Colonial Music by James Moore III and Tyler Moore

Colonial Dance by Historical Dancers of King George

Participants in the Wreath Laying Ceremony

President esident ast President iecretary sident t, Chaplain ast President resident Past President vs, President ry Hodges, Past Grand Master resident Mossburg, President President ne, President is, President Registrar ey Headley, Regent kins, Governor nt nt President , Director f, Vice Regent Susan Oakey Clotilda Cassidy, Honorary Regent Leedstown Resolutions Chapter, DAR Mary Wasenko, Regent

Susan Harvin, Vice Regent