OUTSTANDING STUDENT ROTC AWARDS PRESENTED AT UVA

On April 16, 2024, Past President of the Virginia Society of the War of 1812, Stuart Butler, was on hand to present three Outstanding Student Awards to three deserving ROTC cadets at University of Virginia. The awards sponsored by the General Society of the War of 1812 were awarded to those students who demonstrated outstanding academic achievement and a commitment to serve in the U.S. military armed forces. The cadets are Kyle Fetcho, Connor Pastino, and Anna Young.



Cadet Kyle Fetcho receiving his award from President Butler



L to R: President Butler, Kyle Fetcho, Connor Pastino, and Anna Young

Military Order of the Purple Heart Presented by: Unit Staff Recipients: Kyle Kendall, Andrew Luksik, Kyle Nguyen, Alexiana S. Hughes

The AmVets Award Presented by: Unit Staff Recipients: Joshua Mertz, Jamie Dimedio

The National Defense Transportation Association Award Presented by: Unit Staff Recipients: Todd Hunt

AFCEA Honor Award Presented by: Unit Staff Recipient: Samuel Tran

Air Force Association Award Outstanding Cadet of the Year -Presented by: Unit Staff Recipient: Shannon Bittner

Captain Bret Olin Hines Memorial Award Presented by: Mrs. Elizabeth Hines, Ms. Meade Craun, Mr. Patrick Torrey Recipient: . Kyle Widmark

Virginia Society of the Order of the Founders and Patriots of America Award Presented by: Mr. German P. Culver Recipients: Lucas Fredbeck, Samuel Suppes, Peter Shumacher

Daughters of the Founders and Patriots of

America Award Presented by: Unit Staff Recipients: Leilani Ropati, Eddie Cromwell, Gabriel Le Gouellec, Chelsea Robson, Kersten Smith

General Society of the War of 1812 Award

Presented by: Mr. Stuart Butler Recipients: Kyle Fetcho, Connor Pastino, Anna Young, Danniel Bannon

American Legion Award for Military

Excellence Presented by: Unit Staff Recipients: Fletcher Barnes, Joshua Cross, Michelle Bereznyak, William Jones, Ella Swansen, Benjamin Dries, Regan Powell

American Legion Award for Scholastic

Excellence Presented by: Unit Staff Recipients: Rebecca Fitch, James Broughton, Camille Baron, Jonathan Cohrs, Sara McCraken, Robert Holmstrom, Ericson Lehmann

The Captain David J. Mehlhop Memorial

Award Presented by: Col Hiss (USAF Ret.) Recipient: Shannon Bittner

Col James A. Ball Award Presented by: Class of '75 Representative Recipient: Assistant Professor of Air Science

Joint Awards Ceremony 2024



Master of Ceremony (MC): Toy Andrews **Unit Commanding Officers** Army LTC Elizabeth Eaton-Ferenzi Navy CAPT Michael Rovenolt Air Force COL Jason Bell

Presenters: As the MC calls the name of the award to be presented, please come to the stage and present the award. Upon presenting your award, please depart the stage and return to your seat.

Students: Please proceed to the stage once your name is called, to meet the presenter and accept your award. Upon receiving your award, please depart the stage and return to your seat. Awards in order of presentation:

The Sons of Union Veterans of the Civil War Award

Presented by: Command Sergeant Major Roger Leturno, U.S. Army (ret.) Recipients:

Gavin Moore, Matthew Bitner, Christian Craft, Jacob Lewis

USAA Spirit Award Presented by: Sergeant Major Keith Long, USMC (ret.)

Recipients Mary Lou Moore, Sarah Falk, Chantel Moore, John Grant, Joshua Mosley

Sons of the American Revolution Award Presented by: Col. James O'Kelley (ret.) Col. Steve Hiss (ret.) and Mr. Angus Lamond

Recipients: Henry Pryor, Dwight Pogemiller, Christopher Johnson, Donovan Miller, Jade Lewis

The Military Officers' Association of America

Presented by: Lt Gen Tad Oelstrom, USAF (ret.) Recipients: Kevin Holcombe, Sean Tolentino, Adam Rogers, Kyle Widmark, Hudson Reid, Caleb Jav

Ancient and Accepted Scottish Rite of

Freemasonry

Presented by: Dr. Jeff Hodges Recipients: Jared Lepson, Connor Blake, Tomas Rustia. Alexander Shaw, Benjamin Dries

National Sojourners Award for Americanism

Presented by: Dr. Jeff Hodges Recipients: Cairns Edmonson, Christopher Johnson, Essence Howard

Daughters of the American Revolution

<u>Award</u> Presented by: Ms. Victoria Ligon Recipients: Unoma Aguolo, Joshua Walls, Olivia Barr, Michelle Jacobs

Veterans of Foreign Wars of the United States Award

Presented by: Mr. Joe Martin Recipients: Dominic Richmond, Samule Dickover, Steve Kim, Emma Ray, Nicholas Dungan

Military Order of World Wars

Presented by: Mr. Peter Bryan Recipients: Robert DeMarcellus, Natalie Pelto, Kyle B. Remington, Callum Reed, Judson Benson Van Dervort III, Sasha Porter, Joshua Cicalo, James DeMarcellus, Ava Hering

The Reserve Organization of America Award

Presented by: COL Lettie Bien Recipients: Adam Hanna, Ander Kelley, Isaac Wied, Luke Strobach, Megan Shelatz, Kyle Widmark